Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Time to update

Sorry about the mess...I was trying to "pretty up" my blog page and only part of it changed, while the rest stayed the original.  Anybody that has any clue how to help me figure this out, I would greatly appreciate it.  I used Webfetti.  Also if you know how to delete a post, fill me in on that too.  This blog stuff is fun but confusing sometimes!

To update you since my last post, I made it thru my first week...baby step one, eating healthier.  For the most part, I did that pretty well.  Probably 80% of the time I made healthy choices.  I've read before that if you eat healthy 80% of the time, you are doing great, so I am happy with that.  That being said, my weight stayed the same, which I pretty much expected would be the case.  Week two I am continuing with baby step one and am picking up baby step two...journaling.  I am following Weight Watchers (can't remember if I said that before or not, so sorry if I am repeating myself), although not the most recent program.  Counting points, journaling what I eat and drink, and staying within my points, including the 35 weekly "bonus" points.  I have no clue what the Momentum program is or how it is different, and at this point I can't afford to join WW, plus my favorite leader is no longer a leader so it would probably be a yawn-fest anyway.

Setting goals is an important part of being successful at losing weight.  Short-term and long-term goals.  For the short term, I would like to lose 20 pounds by my birthday (March 30).  Once I pick up baby step three next week...exercise...that should help accelerate the pounds lost.  Long-term, I really don't know what my goal weight is...I'm aiming for 145-150 pounds.  Once I get there, I'll see how I feel.  Along the way I am drinking more water and have also started drinking a cup of green tea in the afternoon.  I know coffee has health benefits too, but I can't drink my coffee without my favorite flavored creamer, which is extra calories and fat I don't need, so eventually...someday...MAYBE I might try switching to tea altogether.  Black tea and white tea are also good for you, so maybe the variety might make it a little easier.  But anyone who knows me very well knows I cannot pass a Starbucks without stopping in for a Frappucino or a latte.  At least I can get the light versions and save quite a few calories and fat grams :)

It's Tuesday, so that means it's Biggest Loser night.  Going to my BL buddies house...she's fixing chicken vegetable soup for us for supper.  No idea how to accurately figure the points for that, so I'll have to get out my Points book and guesstimate.  I'm sure it can't be very many points.  I love having someone to watch BL with, it makes it much more fun.  We laugh, we cry, we trash the contestants we love to hate, I drool over Bob...it's all in good fun.  She is also trying to lose weight, so we talk about our past week, what we did well, what we need to work on, and support each other in the process.

Until next time...

No comments:

Post a Comment